Webinars on COVID-19, newborn and perinatal health

Do No Harm: Ensuring Safe Care for Mothers, Newborn & Children During COVID-19

July 30 @ 1800hrs Central America

We cordially invite you to IPA-UNICEF-WHO Spanish webinar on “Do No Harm: Ensuring Safe Care for Mothers, Newborn & Children During COVID-19” on 30th July 2020, 1800hrs Central America, 1900hrs Mexico/Columbia, 2000hrs Chile, New York.

Watch the webinar 

Oxygen therapy for newborns and children 

July 23 @ 1pm CEST

This is the fourth webinar in a series on ‘Delivering quality essential maternal, newborn and child health services during COVID-19’. Quality of care experts will share global guidance and country experiences around quality of care for maternal, newborn and child health in the context of COVID-19.

The series is co-hosted by the Network for Improving Quality of Care for Maternal, Newborn and Child Health and the QoC subgroup of the Child Health Task Force, with the support of UNICEF and the World Health Organization.

Register here

Continuity of Maternal, Newborn, and Child Health, Family Planning, and Reproductive Health Care in the Time of COVID-19: Webinar 2

July 23 @ 8am EDT

Please join the US Agency for International Development (USAID)’s MOMENTUM Country and Global Leadership for its second webinar of the three-part knowledge exchange webinar series.Country leaders will discuss practical strategies on mitigating the disruption of essential services for child health and immunization during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Register for the webinar

Do No Harm: Perinatal, Newborn and Child Health during COVID-19

July 16 @ 9am EDT/1300 hours UTC

Presented by IPA, UNICEF and WHO

Watch the webinar

COVID-19 – Ensuring Safe Breastfeeding and Newborn Care: Lessons from Countries

July 7 @ 9am EST/15:00 CET/16:00 EAT/18:30 IST/21:00 CST

Babies being born during the COVID-19 pandemic are entering the world at a time of confusion and uncertainty. New questions have emerged on how to protect the health and safety of the babies and those who care for them while also still ensuring that all babies get the best possible start in life.

This webinar, co-hosted by the Partnership for Maternal, Newborn and Child Health (PMNCH) and the Early Childhood Development Action Network (ECDAN) will provide guidance, address questions and provide practical examples to inspire solutions in your context.

Register for the webinar 

Putting Policy into Practice

June 30 @ 7am EDT/11am GMT

Please join us for a discussion on ensuring access to sexual and reproductive health (SRH) care as countries deliver essential health services according to the World Health Organization’s (WHO) guidance for the COVID-19 context.

Register for the webinar

Delivering quality essential maternal, newborn and child health services during COVID-19: Emegency Triage and Assessment 

June 25 @ 1pm CEST

This is the second webinar in a series on ‘Delivering quality essential maternal, newborn and child health services during COVID-19’. Quality of care experts will share global guidance and country experiences around quality of care for maternal, newborn and child health in the context of COVID-19.

The series is co-hosted by the Network for Improving Quality of Care for Maternal, Newborn and Child Health and the QoC subgroup of the Child Health Task Force, with the support of UNICEF and the World Health Organization.

Register for the webinar

Immunizing Global Health Against Disruptions

June 23 @ 8am EDT/2pm CEST

The webinar will focus on COVID’s disruption of essential health services like immunization, how programs like polio are adapting, and what it means to #buildbackbetter to ensure preparedness against future emergencies. Featured speakers include Dr. Zubair Wadood (WHO), Dr. Robin Nandy (UNICEF) and Barbara Saitta (MSF).

Register for the webinar

Children and Immunization during COVID-19

June 23 @ 4pm GMT

The International Pediatric Association in association with UNICEF and WHO is pleased to invite you to participate actively in the Webinar dedicated to “Children and Immunization during COVID-19” on  23 June 2020, 4 p.m. GMT.

Watch the webinar

Continuity of Maternal, Newborn, and Child Health, Family Planning, and Reproductive Health Care in the Time of COVID-19: Webinar 1

June 18 @ 8am EST

Please join the US Agency for International Development (USAID)’s MOMENTUM Country and Global Leadership for a three-part knowledge exchange webinar series, where we will hear learnings and practical strategies from country leaders on mitigating disruption of services for maternal, newborn and child health (MNCH); voluntary family planning (FP); and reproductive health (RH) care during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Register for the webinar 

Delivering quality essential maternal, newborn and child health services during Covid-19: Infection prevention and control

June 11 @ 1pm CEST

This is the first webinar in a series on ‘Delivering quality essential maternal, newborn and child health services during COVID-19’. Quality of care experts will share global guidance and country experiences around quality of care for maternal, newborn and child health in the context of COVID-19.
The series is co-hosted by the Network for Improving Quality of Care for Maternal, Newborn and Child Health and the QoC subgroup of the Child Health Task Force, with the support of UNICEF and the World Health Organization.

Register for the webinar

COVID-19: Responding to the Crisis of Care and Learning: Lessons from humanitarian contexts 

June 11 @ 9:30am EST/15:30 CET/16:30 EAT/19:00 IST/21:30 CST

For young children and families living in humanitarian settings, the COVID-19 pandemic represents a new crisis layered onto existing crises, compounding and exacerbating threats to healthy development in some of the world’s most challenging settings.

With the aims of highlighting the key issues, innovative programming adaptations, and research considerations, the Inter-Agency Network on Education in Emergencies (INEE), the Early Childhood Development Action Network (ECDAN) and the Moving Minds Alliance (MMA) will jointly host a webinar focused on Early Childhood Development in Humanitarian Settings in the context of the COVID-19 pandemic.

The 90 minutes webinar will include speakers from BRAC, i-ACT, IRC, UNICEF, Refugee Trauma Initiative, NYU Global Ties for Children, and TheirWorld.

Register for the webinar

Spectrum of COVID-19 in Children- What we know till now

May 29 @ 1500 UTC/GMC/11am EDT/1700 CET

This will include the synthesis of current available evidence of pediatric manifestations of COVID-19 including the recently reported cases of multisystem inflammatory syndrome in children and adolescents with COVID-19 that resembles Kawasaki like illness. Please find the flyer along with YouTube link for the same. Kindly circulate the announcement widely within your teams and networks given the strong interest in this issue.

Watch the webinar

Vigilancia Epidemiologica de la Mortalidad Materna por COVID-19 en América Latina y el Caribe

22 de mayo @ 9am PAN/10am CHI/11am URU

Se presentarán la nueva ficha de CLAP/OPS de infecciones respiratorias para mujeres embarazadas, la importancia de la reactivación y fortalecimiento de los sistemas de vigilancia epidemiológica de la mortalidad materna y la centralidad que adquiere mantener el análisis de desigualdades en salud materna durante la pandemia para una mejor toma de decisiones.

Epidemiological Surveillance of Maternal Mortality by COVID-19 in Latin America and the Caribbean

May 22 @ 9am PAN/10am CHI/11am URU

The webinar will discuss the new CLAP/PAHO brief on respiratory infections for pregnant women, highlighting the importance of reactivating and strengthening epidemiological surveillance systems for maternal mortality, and the centrality of maintaining the analysis of inequalities in maternal health during the pandemic.

Watch the webinar recording

LiST modelling of indirect under-five and maternal deaths due to service disruptions during the COVID-19 pandemic

May 18 @ 8am EST

While the direct mortality impact of COVID-19 on children and women of reproductive age appears to be limited, if the provision and utilization of routine health services are disrupted, the indirect increase in child and maternal deaths could be devastating. In a recent study by researchers at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, the Lives Saved Tool (LiST) was used to estimate the potential additional under-five and maternal deaths in 118 low- and middle-income countries (representing almost 98 per cent of global under-five deaths) due to various reductions in routine health service coverage levels. With severe disruptions in lifesaving interventions, over one million additional under-five deaths and more than 56,000 maternal deaths could occur in just six months, according to the study. In this webinar, Tim Roberton, the study’s lead author, will give an overview of the LiST study followed by a brief demonstration of a dashboard presenting the study results at country and regional levels and discussions on the interpretation and use of the findings.

Presenters: Tim Roberton (Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health) – LiST study; Lucia Hug and David Sharrow (Data & Analytics, Division of Data, Analytics, Planning & Monitoring, UNICEF) – country dashboard and explanatory note. Moderators: Danzhen You (Data & Analytics, Division of Data, Analytics, Planning & Monitoring, UNICEF) and Theresa Diaz (Maternal, Newborn, Child and Adolescent Health and Ageing Department, WHO).

Immunization in the Time of COVID-19: The critical role of community voices in building global resilience against pandemics and maintaining essential services.

May 14 @ 15:00 CET, 14:00 UK time

The COVID-19 pandemic is claiming lives across the globe and causing disruption to the delivery of primary health care services. A critical concern is that the interruption of immunization services poses a major risk for secondary outbreaks of vaccine preventable diseases (VPD). This spotlight on vaccines highlights the importance of routine immunisation systems and calls to question the preparedness of health systems around the world.

In this online webinar, featuring speakers from Civil Society, Gavi and the WHO, we will identify lessons learnt from strengthening health systems and routine immunisation, reflect on adaptive approaches to maintain routine immunisation during the pandemic and identify the necessary commitments from country partners to achieve equitable access to vaccines against both known and novel pathogens.

The event will be streamed live in English and French and is hosted by Gavi CSO Constituency in partnership with ACTION, Gavi, the Vaccine Alliance, PATH, RESULTS UK & Save the Children.

Register to watch the webinar recording

Addressing the health needs of urban slum dwellers in the context of COVID-19

May 13 @ 9:00am EDT

Expert panelists will include Dr. Jason Corburn of UC Berkeley, Dr. Blessing Mberu of APHRC, Dr. Sathy Rajasekharan of Kuboresha Afya Mitaani, Dr. Yvonne Mugerwa of Kampala MaNe, and Dr. Raz Stevenson of USAID. This webinar will shed light on the impact of COVID-19 on some of the world’s most vulnerable and least understood people as well as offer implications for policy and practice. The Community of Practice aims to foster technical exchange, collaboration, learning, capacity building, and resource mobilization. This webinar is presented by USAID & The Health Research Program’s Urban Health Community of Practice.

Webinar resources

3rd Joint Regional Webinar: Monitoring of continuity of MNH services (Africa)

May 7

See below for the presentations and webinar recording. Learn more about the webinar series.

Listen to the webinar

International Day of the Midwife 2020: The voices of midwives during the COVID-19 pandemic

May 5

WHO presentation on caring for women and newborns during the COVID-19 pandemic. Hear the voices of midwifery leaders from around the world. Password: IDM@050520

Watch the webinar

COVID-19 & newborn health including PSBI scale-up

April 29

What does COVID-19 mean for newborn health in low & middle income countries? We will also discuss what COVID-19 means for scale up of the guideline for possible serious bacterial infection (PSBI) for sick young infants when referral is not feasible. Presented by Dr. Rajiv Bahl, Karen Edmond & Ornella Lincetto (WHO), and Dr. Luwei Pearson (UNICEF).

Watch the webinar

Slides presented by Dr. Rajiv Bahl

COVID-19 & MNCH: What’s happening in countries?

April 21

Short inputs from Community of Practice members from Uganda, Nigeria, Nepal, Bangladesh and Brazil answering questions such as: Are women still coming to facilities to attend ANC and deliver? How are health workers adapting MNCH health services and practices? What is happening to attempts to provide Respectful Maternity Care? Are MNCH services suffering with the focus on COVID-19? How are healthcare workers coping? What are the challenges they are facing & what lessons learnt that could be shared? 

Watch the webinar 

Webinar summary

IPA FIGO – Mother and Newborn Essentials for COVID-19

April 21

Watch the webinar